Six Lasell women’s lacrosse players named to All-GNAC team

Six Lasell women’s lacrosse players named to All-GNAC team

NEWTON, Mass. – A half dozen Lasell College women's lacrosse players were honored Monday by the Great Northeast Athletic Conference (GNAC) for their performances in the 2019 season. They were named to the All-GNAC Team as voted on by the conference's head coaches.

Senior Jordan McComb (Cumberland, R.I./Mt. Saint Charles Academy) earned the top honor for Lasell with selection as GNAC Midfielder of the Year. She was joined on the All-GNAC First Team by senior attack Vanessa Pino (Methuen, Mass./Methuen), while sophomore defender Caitie Grady (Southbury, Conn./Pomperaug) was a Second Team selection. Three Laser juniors earned Third Team nods – midfielder Amanda DiLeonardo (West Haven, Conn./West Haven), defender Brooke Landry (New Milford, Conn./New Milford) and goalie Morgan Choquet (Woonsocket, R.I./Mt. Saint Charles Academy).

Pino and McComb received All-Conference honors for the third time in their careers, while Landry is a two-time honoree and the others were recognized for the first time. They helped Lasell finish with a 15-4 overall record this spring under head coach Cait Connolly, matching the top mark in program history previously achieved in 2012 and 2013.

Jordan McComb Vanessa Pino Caitie Grady Amanda DiLeonardo Brooke Landry Morgan Choquet

McComb ranked among the GNAC leaders in numerous categories. She was second in the conference with 77 goals, fourth with 96 points, and 11th with 19 assists. She was also second with 67 ground balls, third with 37 caused turnovers, and fifth with 80 draw controls. McComb's 77 goals rank 23rd nationally in Division III, and her 96 points rank 37th.

McComb has made an impact on Lasell's career record book, ranking tied for seventh with 163 goals, eighth with 34 assists, seventh with 197 points, sixth with 136 ground balls and 140 draw controls, and fifth with 70 caused turnovers. McComb, a Third Team selection in 2016 and Second Team pick a year ago, has one year of eligibility remaining and could return to the Lasers next season.

Pino was also among the GNAC leaders in several categories, ranking fifth with 54 goals and 93 points, and fourth with 39 assists. She earns her third straight All-GNAC First Team selection.

Pino is a presence on Lasell's career scoring list. She ranks tied for seventh all-time with 163 goals, third with 99 assists, and fourth with 262 points. She is also 10th with both 39 caused turnovers and 74 draw controls.

Grady and Landry helped anchor a Laser defense that ranked sixth in the GNAC, allowing 10.28 goals per conference game. Grady was second on the team and 18th in the GNAC with 45 ground balls, and third on the team and 19th in the conference with 22 caused turnovers. A Third Team All-GNAC selection in 2017, Grady has recorded 42 caused turnovers the past two seasons, eighth most in program history. Landry collected 18 ground balls and nine caused turnovers, upping her career totals to 60 ground balls and 24 caused turnovers. She was an All-GNAC Third Team selection in 2017.

DiLeonardo finished third on the team in scoring with 41 goals, 10 assists and 51 points. She was also third on the team and 13th in the conference with 55 draw controls. She upped her career totals to 54 goals and 12 assists for 66 points, along with 70 draw controls.

Choquet started all 19 games in goal for Lasell, recording a 10.57 goals against average and a .454 save percentage with 149 saves. She ranked fifth in the GNAC in GAA and total saves and seventh in save percentage. Her 149 saves are sixth-most in a season in school history, and her 15 victories equals the program record set by Alexa Katsigianis in 2012.

Additionally, senior Lily Delaney (Weymouth, Mass./Archbishop Williams) was Lasell's representative on the GNAC All-Sportsmanship Team.

2019 GNAC All-Conference Team

First Team
A – Maria Patane, Johnson & Wales
A – Allison Pazienski, Johnson & Wales
A – Vanessa Pino, Lasell
A – Kerri Anselmo, Regis
M – Brittany Ireland, Colby-Sawyer
M – Marley Medina, Johnson & Wales
M – Jordan McComb, Lasell
M – Alyssa Kelly, Regis
D – Mattie Iaria, Colby-Sawyer
D – Deja Hursey, Johnson & Wales
D – Maddy Rodriguez, Regis
D – Meghan Sargent, Regis
GK – Brittany McPherson, Regis

Second Team
A – Sarah Morin, Colby-Sawyer
A – Dani Lydecker, Johnson & Wales
A – Maddy Beaulieu, Saint Joseph's (Maine)
A – Elena Bragg, Simmons
M – Sierra Schuster, Colby-Sawyer
M – Kayla Kelly, Saint Joseph's (Maine)
M – Mallory Cottam, Simmons
M – Molly Reinhold, Simmons
D – Hadley Borkowski, Johnson & Wales
D – Caitie Grady, Lasell
D – Brooke Greatorex, Regis
D – Brittney Arsenault, Saint Joseph's (Maine)
GK – Kailyn Lapham, Colby-Sawyer

Third Team
A – Kylie Rice, Emmanuel
A – Amanda DiLeonardo, Lasell
A – Kara Kelly, Saint Joseph's (Maine)
A – Missie Maiewski, Simmons
M – Emily Saef, Emmanuel
M – Madeline Bishara, Johnson & Wales
M – Brynn Mendes, Norwich
M – Emily Kosak, Regis
D – Katherin Martinez, Albertus Magnus
D – Madison Johansson, Colby-Sawyer
D – Brooke Landry, Lasell
D – Lauren Williams, Simmons
GK – Morgan Choquet, Lasell

ATTACKER OF THE YEAR – Allison Pazienski, Johnson & Wales
Jordan McComb, Lasell
Meghan Sargent, Regis
Brittany McPherson, Regis
Emily Saef, Emmanuel
Courtney Duggan, Regis
Anna Maria College

Grace Vestro, Albertus Magnus
Cassie Micklesavage, Anna Maria
Bethany Fennessey, Colby-Sawyer
Allison Hutchings, Emmanuel
Erin Smith, Johnson & Wales
Mary-Kait Mace, Norwich
Lily Delaney, Lasell
Bridget Dowling, Regis
Amanda Barton, Rivier
Lizzy Sears, Saint Joseph (Conn.)
Madelyn Nelson, Saint Joseph's (Maine)
Elena Bragg, Simmons

-- 30 --