Six Women's Lacrosse Players Earn All-Conference Honors

Six Women's Lacrosse Players Earn All-Conference Honors

NEWTON, Mass. (5/9/17) -- Sophomore attacker Vanessa Pino (Methuen, Mass.) and juniors midfielder Taylor Yandow (Moretown, Vt.) and defender Taylor Falco (Hazlet, N.J.) of the Lasell College women's lacrosse team were named to the All-Great Northeast Athletic Conference (GNAC) First Team, as announced on Tuesday.

Lasell's three First Team selections are the second-most in the GNAC and lead six total Lasers who earned All-GNAC honors as freshman attacker Samantha Taylor (Hanover, Mass.) and senior goalkeeper Bridget Delaney (Weymouth, Mass.) were named to the Second Team, while freshman midfielder Brooke Landry (New Milford, Conn.) garnered Third Team honors.

Yandow and Pino were the Lasers' top two scorers and earned First Team nods after combining for 98 goals and 129 points in 16 games. Yandow was the GNAC's fifth-leading scorer with 67 points and also topped the team with 52 goals (T-7th in the GNAC), 18 free-position goals (2nd), 88 draw controls (4th), 41 caused turnovers (1st), and 62 ground balls (4th).

Pino finished second on the team and tied for ninth in the league with 62 goals, while her 16 assists led the Lasers. A two-time GNAC Player of the Week this season, Pino scored points in 11 straight games to end the season and recorded points in all but her first two.

Falco anchored Lasell's defense and ranked second on the team to Yandow with 35 ground balls and 20 caused turnovers, while also scoring one goal on two shots.

Taylor was the third Laser to finish the season with 25 goals and also ranked third on the team with 35 points, while scooping up 30 ground balls, controlling 14 draws, and causing 10 turnovers. Her 52 total shots ranked third on the team.

Delaney ranked second in the GNAC with a .543 save percentage and fourth with seven victories in 13 games on the season, forming a goalkeeping tandem with classmate Brooke Bergeron (Lynn, Mass.). Additionally, her 9.26 goals-against average ranked fifth and her 90 goals against were the league's third-fewest allowed.

Landry rounds out the Lasers' All-GNAC selections after scoring nine goals and 13 total points while playing in all 16 games. The midfielder also recorded 25 ground balls, caused six turnovers, and took 15 shots on goal.

Freshman midfielder Erin Fleming (Milford, Mass.) was Lasell's All-Sportsmanship Team representative. She played in five games, recording three ground balls, a draw control, and a caused turnover.

The Lasers finished the season with a 10-6 overall record and won seven of their nine GNAC games, including each of the last three to end the regular season, to finish third in the league's standings.

First Team
A – Alexandra Anton, Johnson & Wales (RI) (So., Dix Hills, N.Y.)
A – Raquel Pederzani, Johnson & Wales (RI) (Jr., Coventry, R.I.)
A – Vanessa Pino, Lasell (So., Methuen, Mass.)
A – Alyssa Kelly, Mount Ida (So., Lee, Mass.)
A – Kasey Fries, Simmons (Jr., Bridgewater, Mass.)
M – Lydia Knapp, Johnson & Wales (RI) (Sr, Glens Falls, N.Y.)
M – Taylor Yandow, Lasell (Jr., Moretown, Vt.)
M – Elyse Caiazzo, Saint Joseph's (Me.) (Jr., Scarborough, Maine)
D – Elizabeth Tonn, Johnson & Wales (RI) (Jr., Wantagh, N.Y.)
D – Taylor Falco, Lasell (Jr., Hazlet, N.J.)
D – Brianne Maloney, Saint Joseph's (Me.) (Jr., South Portland, Maine)
GK – Marianna Consiglio, Johnson & Wales (RI) (Jr., New Fairfield, Conn.)

Second Team
A – Emily Baker, Emmanuel (Mass.) (Sr., Stratham, N.H.)
A – Juliana Giello, Johnson & Wales (RI) So., Warwick, N.Y.)
A – Samantha Taylor, Lasell (Fr., Hanover, Mass.)
A – Brooke Scahill, Mount Ida (So., Ledyard, Conn.)
A – Chapel Guarnieri, Norwich (Sr., Pepperell, Mass.)
M – Savannah Lundwall, Emmanuel (Mass.) (Sr., Fiskdale, Mass.)
M – Kathryn Albretsen, Norwich (So., Cotuit, Mass.)
M – Jackie Wilson, Saint Joseph's (Me.) (Sr., Tiverton, R.I.)
D – Stephanie Warn, Emmanuel (Mass.) (Jr., Hanson, Mass.)
D – Madeline Bishara, Johnson & Wales (RI) (Fr., Saunderstown, R.I.)
D – Molly Thompson, Mount Ida (Jr., Canterbury, Conn.)
GK – Bridget Delaney, Lasell (Sr., Weymouth, Mass.)

Third Team
A – Abaigeal Merrigan, Emmanuel (Mass.) (Sr., Rye, N.H.)
A – Maria Patane, Johnson & Wales (RI) (Fr., Greenwich, N.Y.)
A – Emily McConnell, Mount Ida (Jr., Dracut, Mass.)
A – Meaghan McGrath, Norwich (Jr., Barre, Vt.)
A – Sally Kennedy, Rivier (Fr., Billerica, Mass.)
M – Gabrielle Vasile, Johnson & Wales (RI) (Jr., Milford, Mass.)
M – Elena Bragg, Simmons (So., Belmont, Mass.)
M – Ana Giarrusso, Simmons (So., Hingham, Mass.)
D – Sophia White, Emmanuel (Mass.) (Jr., Monterey, Calif.)
D – Brooke Landry, Lasell (Fr., New Milford, Conn.)
D – Lauren Williams, Simmons (So., Bowdoinham, Maine)
GK – Kaylin Mansir, Saint Joseph's (Me.) (Fr., West Gardiner, Maine)

Offensive Player of the Year – Elyse Caiazzo, Saint Joseph's (Me.)
Defensive Player of the Year – Savannah Lundwall, Emmanuel (Mass.)
Goalkeeper of the Year – Marianna Consiglio, Johnson & Wales (RI)
Rookie of the Year – Brooke Scahill, Mount Ida
Coach of the Year – Caitlin Hansen, Johnson & Wales (RI)
Institutional Sportsmanship Award – Saint Joseph (Conn.)

All-Sportsmanship Team
Carla Tapia, Albertus Magnus (Sr., Bronx, N.Y.)
Molly Goodhue, Emmanuel (Sr., Brattleboro, Vt.)
Sabrina Kachurka, Johnson & Wales (So., North Babylon, N.Y.)
Erin Fleming, Lasell (Fr., Milford, Mass.)
Molly Thompson, Mount Ida (Jr., Centerbury, Conn.)
Mary-Kait Mace, Norwich (Fr., Canton, N.Y.)
Courtney Laperriere, Rivier (So., Keene, N.H.)
Amanda Van Buren, Saint Joseph (CT) (Jr., Burlington, Conn.)
Emily Manning, Saint Joseph's (Me.) (Jr., Charlestown, R.I.)
Sara Rademacher, Simmons (Sr., North Haven, Conn.)