Men's Track & Field Finishes 4th at Reggie Poyau Invitational

Men's Track & Field Finishes 4th at Reggie Poyau Invitational

WALTHAM, MA- The Lasell College men's track & field team finished fourth overall at the Reggie Poyau Invitational, hosted by Brandeis University on Saturday, January 15th. JB Leger (Waltham, MA) came in first place in the men's triple jump event, setting a new school record of 12.47 meters.


The University of Southern Maine led all teams with 170 points, followed by Amherst with 161 and Brandeis with 111. 


Four Lasers placed in the 55 meter preliminaries, led by Antonio Nesbitt (Springfield, MA) in 8th, finishing in 7.07 seconds.  Shane Cardillo (Great Barrington, MA), Heath Cormier (Hiram, ME), and Boulos Abdallah (Watervliet, NY), followed with times of 7.21, 7.21, and 7.47 respectively.  Tri Vo (Attleboro, MA) placed 13th in the 200 meter dash with a time of 25.12 seconds, improving on his previous time of 25.14. 


Joe Gately (Woburn, MA), Felix Villa (Bridgeport, CT), and Jeremy Fay (Belchertown, MA) followed back-to-back-to-back in the 400 meter, finishing in 11th, 12th, and 13th place.  Gately ran the race in 59.98 seconds, Villa concluded just two seconds later and Fay ended in 1:13.03.  Miguel Taveras (Lawrence, MA) rounded out the running events with a time of 10:39.20 in the 3000 meter race. 


In the field events, Leger's 12.47 meter (40'11") triple jump, and first place performance earned Lasell 10 points.  Ethan Genter (Newburgh, NY) came in second in the same event, good for eight points.  Genter improved upon his previous distance (11.98 meters) with a jump of 12.07 meters (39'7 1/4").  James Curtis set a new record in the shot put, throwing a distance of 10.76 meters (35' 3 3/4"), adding over a foot to the previous Lasell record.  Curtis finished in 3rd place in the shot put and earned six points for the Lasers.  Dan Hammond (Mansfield, MA) placed 7th in the shot put with a distance of 10.31 meters (33' 10"). 


The Lasers next competition is on Saturday, February 5th, at the Smith Tartan Invitational.  The meet begins at 10:00 a.m.