Lasell Honors Senior Athletes at Annual Awards Banquet

Lasell Honors Senior Athletes at Annual Awards Banquet

NEWTON, Mass. (5/10/17) – Lasell College honored its 35 senior athletes for their success and accomplishments at the Annual Awards Banquet Monday night at the Boston-Newton Crowne Plaza.

This senior class has made a tremendous impact on the field and in the classroom, having won a combined total of 571 games, while setting over 20 school records.

Director of Athletics Kristy Walter presented the annual athlete awards to six deserving candidates from the senior class. Mackenzie Kingman and Armin Omanovic were voted as this year's female and male athletes of the year, while Bridget Delaney and Yordan Villalon were presented with the Torchbearer Award.

The Student Athlete of the year award is presented annually to one female and one male student-athlete who have made a significant impact on the success of their team this year and have been recognized by the conference and a regional or national body for excellence in athletic achievement.

Kingman was a four-year member of the women's soccer program, who finished her career third in program history with 85 games played including 84 starts. A versatile talent, she has played a key role in helping the women's soccer team to four consecutive GNAC championships and a combined record of 41-0-3 in GNAC play over the last four years. A three-time All-GNAC honoree, and a two-time All-New England selection, she became the first female in Lasell College history this year to be named an All-American.

Omanovic started in 50 of 51 games played in his three-year stint on the Lasell men's basketball team. He registered 1,229 points, while handing out 205 assists and grabbing 236 rebounds. In his senior season, he averaged 28.0 points per game, ranked first in the GNAC and 2nd in the nation. He ranked 4th in the country in free throws made with 179 and 10th in the country in three-point field goals made per game at 3.50. In his career at Lasell he was twice named to the All-GNAC 1st team, and was one of 10 finalists for the Josten's trophy, which is awarded annually to Division III basketball players based on basketball ability, academic prowess and community service.

The Torchbearer Award is presented to student-athletes in their final season of eligibility; who have excelled on the playing field and in the classroom; while making a positive impact on the Lasell Community. The recipients of this award, represent the definition of a student-athlete, by being a contributing member of a varsity team for at least 3 seasons, maintaining a cumulative GPA of 3.0 and demonstrating strong leadership qualities on and off of the playing field. The recipients of this award are individuals who exemplify leadership, team spirit, ability and character.

Delaney, a four-year member of the women's lacrosse program, played in 32 games in her career with 22 starts; recording 178 career saves and 14 wins while serving as a senior captain. During her career she helped her team to a pair of GNAC quarterfinal appearances, a GNAC finals appearance and a 2016 GNAC Championship, and was named to this year's GNAC All-Conference second team. She served as the president of the Student Athlete Advisory Committee and President of the Campus Activities Board while also serving as the Vice President of Laser Nation and is the Class Committee Treasurer.  Last month, she received the Lasell Bowl for her contributions to the campus community.

Villalon was a three-year member of the men's basketball program, who appeared in 76 games with 35 starts, including starting 25 of 28 games this year as a senior captain. He finished his career with 498 points and 581 rebounds while helping his team to three consecutive GNAC tournament appearances, including a semifinal appearance in 2016 and a championship appearance in 2017. He served as a senior speaker at the 2016 Lasell College Alumni Relations donor event, and presented at Newton City Hall on White Ribbon Day speaking out against Domestic and Sexual Violence.  He received a Lasell Bowl for his contributions to the campus community and he has been selected as this year's commencement speaker. 

Faculty Athletic Representative Janice Savitz awarded Patrick MacDonald and Courtney Braman with the male and female scholar athlete awards for their outstanding contributions in the classroom.  MacDonald was a four-year member of the men's volleyball team while twice being named to the Great Northeast Athletic Conference 1st team. He helped the program to their first-ever conference championship in 2014, and to its highest-ever NCAA ranking as they climbed to 8th this season. He finishes his career with 835 kills, 512 digs and 117 service aces. His career GPA tops the 3.5 mark and he will graduate in May with his degree in Sport Management and a minor in Law and Business.

Braman was a four-year member of the women's field hockey program, starting 66 of the 73 games she appeared in during her career, scoring 15 goals and adding eight assists. She was the recipient of the 2017 Lasell Chair, given to a graduating student as an acknowledgement of an extraordinary record of accomplishment, service and contributions to the campus community. Braman is a Communications Major with concentrations in creative advertising and public relations and a minor in event management, and has a career GPA over a 3.7.

For photos from the event, please visit and "like" our Facebook page at Lasellathletics


Congratulations, to the Class of 2017!


Hector Coscione Baseball  
Brooke Bergeron Women's Lacrosse  
Courtney Braman Field Hockey  
Megan Cullen Sport Management  
Tristan Davis Communication  
Devon Day Psychology  
Bridget Delaney Sport Management  
Peter Dolan Communication  
Krystel Enko Softball  
Josh Gallant Sport Management  
Will Gold Finance  
Caitlyn Greco Exercise Science  
Matt Haskell Sport Management  
Casey Johnson Marketing  
Connor Johnson Sport Management  
Mack Kingman Hospitality Management  
Brianna Longo Fashion and Retail Merchandising  
Patrick MacDonald Sport Management  
Laura MacLeod Communication  
Mackenzie Madden Criminal Justice  
Bridget Makles Fashion Design and Production  
Armin Omanovic Applied Mathematics  
John Powell Management  
Ayumi Ranucci Communication  
Anthony Saitta Communication  
Jorge Salazar Exercise Science  
Hilmar Smith Sport Management  
Erin Smith Exercise Science  
Cassandra Stout Environmental Studies  
Jon Sutton Marketing  
Chase Swift Criminal Justice  
Brandon Valentin Management  
Maria Vasiliadis Exercise Science  
Jeff Vautrin Exercise Science  
Yordan Villalon Human Services